This is Amos…

IMG_3486This is Amos. Amos wants to learn how to read and write. He wants to learn how to speak English. He wants to learn to get a job to support himself and his family. He came to see Uncle Ivan to ask him for this opportunity. He had heard about the Mission in Action (MIA) school through the children of the woman he is living with.

This is Amos. Amos wants to learn how to read and write. He wants to learn how to speak English. He wants to learn to get a job to support himself and his family. He came to see Uncle Ivan to ask him for this opportunity. He had heard about the Mission in Action (MIA) school through the children of the woman he is living with.

Amos missed out on this opportunity as his family is very poor. There are nine people in his family. He does not know his father and his mother does not work. When a woman is married off in the villages, they do not inherit anything from their father. They are not entitled to anything. Amos came to Nakuru, Kenya to work for a man who needed help with his cows. When the original employee returned to his job, Amos moved in with a family. There are five children in the family. The father works and lives in Uganda, while the mother works in a hotel as a waitress. Two of the older children are at university, and the three left at home (one of which is a cousin) go to MIA school. Amos helps by tending the cows early in the morning. During the day he helps at the hotel, washing dishes, and does other odd jobs. In return he has a bed to sleep on and food to eat.

amos

Amos has been working with me one on one for the last week or so. He is starting from the beginning. He is working twice as hard, learning to read, while also learning the meaning of the words, as he cannot speak English. It is getting easier to communicate. We have fun trying to communicate by using sign language, drawing pictures, pointing to things, the internet, using Google translate (which does not work all the time) and when I am desperate finding a Kenyan staff member. He is a very capable student, and has picked it up very quickly. Each night he completes homework I set, and promptly returns each morning holding his folder of books I bought him. He always returns anything I lend for use at home. The other day I showed him a map of the world. You should have seen his face. He was in awe! He was amazed to see the shape of Africa, as he had never seen a map before. He traced the continent with his finger, as we read out the countries.

For Amos to go to school, it will cost $100 AU a month, which includes schooling, uniform, shoes, books, stationary and food. He will have to start in Grade 1, which he is committed in doing even though the older kids will most likely tease him.

I am looking for a group of people to sponsor him on a probation period of three months. I have two people who are interested, and I was imagining if we had a group of four or five this might be more affordable and viable for people to commit to. If you are interested, please contact me direct via email at rebekahhusk@gmail.com, or privately message me via Facebook.

Please watch his video, which I have uploaded on Facebook.

Thank you for reading.

“No one has ever become poor by giving.” – Anne Frank

 

IMG_3477

Amos had never seen an orange like this before. The oranges around here look like lemons. He was learning about an orange orange, which made him laugh!

 

About Anne Lane

A long time ago I dreamed about being a writer. I was seven. I wrote my first short story about a loved family horse which died. I began writing poetry for family members, including one for my grandfather who passed away suddenly when I was eight. I read it at his funeral. Since those many moons ago, I continued to write for myself; songs, journals, poems, essays. My writing was filled with thoughts and musings constantly shifting from dark and angry to whimsical and romantic, to wonderings about the world: life, death, love, spirituality, pain, family. My blog doesn't have a specific theme...it is a work in progress. I suppose my aim is to have a play with writing, get my thoughts, ideas and feeling out there and explore the world, people and thoughts. I hope I make you feel, think, laugh, cry and spur you on to peel your onion.
This entry was posted in Kenya and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment