Mission in Action – The Children

In just a short amount of time at the orphanage, I have seen, experienced and learned so much. I was thinking about how to approach my next blog as there are so many things I want to explore. And it has had me stumped…where to start?

One thing that I keep thinking about are the similarities and differences between the children here and those back home. Coming from the perspective of a teacher, there are lots of similarities. These children are just as fun, loving and cheeky as those back home.

When I helped out at the school on Friday, I met children who reminded me of ones that I have taught. Some were working ahead and already reading, others were cruising along, some very behind and one boy, from the local community with serious learning difficulties, which have not yet been identified. They are just as loveable and want to please you, listen to you and challenge you. Before I go on, I will just explain a little about the school.

It is a private school set up by my Uncle Ivan, but is run by the teachers and a headmistress. It is built on a large block of land between the two orphanages. Unbeknownst to me, Ivan has two orphanages, one for the children who come here as babies, and one for those who are abandoned from the age of 4. The children from the orphanage attend the school as do local children from the community. The parents pay $100AU a quarter to attend the school, with morning tea of a cup of porridge (ground oats brown in colour, like gravy) and lunch provided. The school has very limited resources. School starts at the age of 3, so baby class, middle class – age 4, top class – age 5, which is equivalent to kindergarten to prep.

I was helping in the baby/middle class. The students used exercise books to learn about counting numbers, with teacher drawn circles to count and record. There were no materials for them to use to help them understand the value of a number and some of the students found this challenging. But they learn, because that is all they have. I was astounded and embarrassed by the amount of resources we have in Australia, and how much wastage occurs. I was looking for paper so the 3 year olds could draw, while the middle class practised their songs, but paper was limited and nothing spare to use. To help with counting, I used anything I could find in the room. The children are unaware of what they are missing out on and love going to school.

I also observed the children at home and during play-time. The major difference I noticed was the level of resilience and independence these children have from the ages of 1. They do not have parents doing things for them and it is not by choice. After talking to some of the women who are familiar with Australian culture, they noticed and fondly told me that we are not as resilient. We are very sensitive and get upset very easily. I had to laugh when I heard that. I know it is a general, sweeping statement but I have to agree with them.

These children have to look after themselves from a young age, whether they are in the orphanage or living in the local community. They need to learn to survive because their parents cannot fend for them. So many times I have had to stop myself from stepping in and helping the 3 years olds, because the carers would just let them be and only assist if asked. I saw these toddlers climb two flights of stairs on their own. They have learned to put two cots close together, and use the railing to climb into bed. They have earned to use the springs of the trampoline to climb up for a jump. And if they cannot do something the older kids help them. If they fall, they laugh and get back up. They communicate so well with each other in Swahili and although look like gorgeous chubby, toddlers, there is a maturity and ‘oldness’ in their eyes. But when they climb into your lap and snuggle, and look into your eyes and grab your arms for a hug, you are reminded that they are just babies who want to be looked after.

Let me tell you a little more about them. The majority of the kids come from the hospitals, where their mothers abandon them after birth because they either cannot look after them or cannot afford the hospital bills. Some of the kids have had parents who have died and family is unable to support them. Then you have the sad cases where babies and young children have been raped and abandoned in gutters, bushes, shop fronts etc. There is a misconception here among the community, that if you have sex with a virgin or baby, you will be cured from aids. So there are some children here who have contracted the disease through birth or through the unimaginable.

One Sunday morning Ivan was called by the chief of Nakuru, as a baby had been found in the bushes by the locals. Within 10 minutes Ivan arrived at the scene, and saw a baby still covered in placenta, umbilical cord attached, ants crawling over his body. He had been born a few hours earlier. The local nurse checked him out and he seemed okay.

When they got home, the nurse cut the cord and checked his temperature. There was no reading. The baby boy was close to hypothermia. The nurse stripped her clothes, and placed him on her chest. After 6 hours of warmth and warming, his temperature became normal. He is now a gorgeous 16 month old, with a contagious teething smile.

This happens day to day to children. The orphanage children are the lucky ones.

Which got me thinking. When a child is put in a situation where they have to look after themselves, they can. They are capable. They learn quickly. Is it more damaging to a child to allow them to look after themselves, or more damaging to do everything for your child? Or is it more about balance? Another question for me to ponder.

This blog is a bit of a ramble, which is reflective of my thoughts right now.

Here are some photos of these happy faces.

photo 4photo 3

 

My hair has never been so smooth after 6 children or more each took turns brushing my hair.

IMG_2770IMG_2993

photo 2photo 1

 

 

 

About Anne Lane

A long time ago I dreamed about being a writer. I was seven. I wrote my first short story about a loved family horse which died. I began writing poetry for family members, including one for my grandfather who passed away suddenly when I was eight. I read it at his funeral. Since those many moons ago, I continued to write for myself; songs, journals, poems, essays. My writing was filled with thoughts and musings constantly shifting from dark and angry to whimsical and romantic, to wonderings about the world: life, death, love, spirituality, pain, family. My blog doesn't have a specific theme...it is a work in progress. I suppose my aim is to have a play with writing, get my thoughts, ideas and feeling out there and explore the world, people and thoughts. I hope I make you feel, think, laugh, cry and spur you on to peel your onion.
This entry was posted in Kenya and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment